Editing sharing for an individual note
In each set of notes, you can view and edit who has access in the top right:
Editing default sharing permissions
Free or Business plans
Click your workspace name in the bottom-left corner, then select Settings. Under Settings > Preferences > Data & sharing, change your Default link sharing setting to ‘Anyone with the link’, ‘Only my company’ or ‘Private’.
- Update all notes changes every note you own to the new setting. Notes that are already stricter stay as they are. For example, a “Private” note won’t become “Only my company”.
- New notes only applies the setting to new notes and leaves your existing notes alone.

Enterprise plans only: configure for your whole organization
If you’re on our Enterprise plan, an admin can configure how your company’s notes and folders can be shared to others, via Settings > Workspace > General. Unlike Free and Business plans, changes to this setting apply retroactively to all existing notes and folders in the workspace. Individuals in the workspace are then unable to change their sharing settings beyond this permission level.
- Allow public links: All notes and folders will have sharing enabled. The link generated will be public and can be shared outside of your company.
- Only people at your company: Notes and folders will have sharing enabled, but can only be viewed by someone signing in with an email at an approved domain. Your workspace’s own domain is always approved, and an admin can add other approved domains with Add domain. If extra domains are added, this option is labeled Only approved domains.
- Restricted access: Notes and folders have sharing disabled, meaning no sharing link is generated and people need to be explicitly invited in order to view.

